June 16, 2024

County Speakers Races Hot Up as Incumbents Stay Put

Taita Taveta Incumbent Speaker Meshack Keke (Photo/ Courtesy)

By The COAST Team.

Email, thecoastnewspaper@gmail.com

Several dignitaries have quickly changed gear days after the conclusion of the general elections where their lack did not stand and now angling themselves for the Assembly’s top seat.

Majority of those who have shown interest are either being sponsored by their parties or by bankrollers while others are independently eyeing the same seat.

Interestingly the incumbents have refused to call it a day but rather tendered their candidature to various county Assemblies ready to reclaim their seats.

A spot check by the Coast Media Group has revealed that the Speakers position has attracted huge numbers of contenders, the incumbents and those who lost in the general elections.

In Tana River County 8 people have offered to contest for the seat which before the general elections was held by Michael Nkaduda who is also in the race.

Tana River Governor Dhadho Godhana is already under siege after all of his closest political friends who lost various seats yawning for his support through the Azimio la umoja ticket to clinch the speakers Seat.

The county assembly is dominated by members from the Azimio la Umoja one Kenya wing which has 10 members out of the 15 County law makers. 

Former Senator Juma Wario of ODM who lost to Danson Buya Mungatana of UDA has already tendered his candidature to the MCA’s awaiting approval from the Independent Electoral Boundaries Commission.

Mr.Juma Wario from the pastoral community faces tough challenge from Ms. Melissa Hadida (ODM) who lost to Amina Dika of Kanu, claims to have been promised a third senior most position in the county by the Azimio la umoja brigade.

Others in the race are Ahmed Bute and Frankfaith Ddaiddo both ODM and are said to be seeking blessings from the governor for the same position.

Chama Cha Uzalendo is also said to be fronting Maur Abdalla Bwanamaka Matapu despite facing internal party wrangles that led to his removal for the senate race.

Political strategist Jillo Kaechi and Nairobi lawyer Sango Maewa have also thrown their hat in the ring with high hopes to bring sanity in the assembly.

Salim Al Busaidy ( In  Cream Kanzu) at Mkunguni Square Lamu Island confers with Fakrudin Ali. The former MCA expressed interest in vying for the Lamu County Assembly Speaker seat

Same story replicates itself in Lamu county where Former speaker Abdul Kassim is expected to mount a formidable challenge after losing Lamu West Constituency seat in the just concluded elections.

Long term political advisor to the Governor Issa Timamy, Salim Al Busaidy has expressed interest for the Lamu County Speaker’s seat.

Speaking to the media in Amu Island Al Busaidy stated that his key reason for running for the County Speaker seat is to facilitate county legislation that would uplift the lives of Lamu residents.

He further noted that his contribution as a minority member in the last assembly, gave him adequate insight as to the kind of legislation needed to ensure that there is a socioeconomic impact for Lamu residents.

Former County Assembly clerk Zachary Mboche is also eyeing the seat while unconfirmed reports indicate that former Lamu West Member of Parliament Julius Ndegwa could be squatting for the same.

In Kilifi a total of ten contenders are said to be up in arms to clinch the seat that was held by Jimmy Kahindi for the last ten years.

While more people have shown interest the former speaker is said to be spending sleepless nights campaigning to retain the seat.

Kahindi was knocked out in the ODM preliminaries for the gubernatorial race before ditching Baba’s party and joined UDA which could now be sponsoring his candidature.

Kilifi County Incumbent SpeakerJimmy Kahind Jogolo(Photo/Courtesy)

Former Ganze legislator Teddy Mwambire is also making an appeal to the MCA’s to consider him for the seat once they’re sworn in sometime this week.

He says he wants to restructure the Assembly and play its role as the public watchdog on the executive.

He adds that for the past five years the Assembly failed in its mandate of keeping the executive on toes hence resulting to poor service delivery to the public.

Others in the race are Carolyne Chilango ANC who lost the senatorial seat to Stewart Madzayo, William Kenga ODM chief Agent, Former MCA Sokoni ward Gilbert Peru PAA, Amani Mkare PAA who lost to the sitting MP Owen Baya Yaa UDA.

In Kwale nine hopefuls are out to grab the seat ready to audit the service delivery of the ever woman governor in Coast Counties Fatma Achani UDA.

Former speaker Sammy Ruwa is not willing to let go the throng while former Kinango legislator Benjamin Tayari says it’s his turn to take the mantle.

Others in the race are former MCA Patrick Mangale, former legal advisor Kwale Salim Gombeni, Raphael Chimera lawyer, Dennis Mutui former county assembly clerk, Seth Kamanza, Beduni Mwawasaa and former Msambweni legislator Omar Zonga.

In Mombasa cards are played under water with no one willing to disclose who could be going for the position but word has it that two forces from the same camp could be pulling apart.

Governor Elect Abdulswamad Nassir is said to be fronting former County Executive Member Tendai Mtana to take up the seat while the outgoing governor Ali Hassan Joho is pushing for the election of his close relative Said Abdalla (AKA Saidoo) as the county Speaker.

Just like in any other county the incumbent speaker Aharub Khatri is vehemently defending his seat and not willing to back off at any cost.

Little is also coming up from Taita Taveta County though the former speaker Meshack Maganga ODM is also not willing to let go.

Even though there’s no serious contender that has shown up to wrestle it with him he’s currently said to be mobilizing MCA’s to consolidate his vote.

Former majority leader Harris Keke and former majority whip Abraham Juma are said to be contemplating whether to give it a shot or stay away from the race.

Both ODM and PAA parties each have 5 seats, while Wiper has 4 UDA 1, Communist Party Of Kenya and Tujibebe party each has one seat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may have missed