May 28, 2022

Government Warns Against Moving out of Restricted Counties

Mombasa County Commissioner Gilbert Kitiyo at a past function. Image; (Courtesy)


The government has issued a stern warning to Mombasa county residents against moving out the county in the next twenty one days.

Speaking to the media in Mombasa on Wednesday, Mombasa County Commissioner (CC)/Gilbert Kitiyo said those flouting the directive will face the full force of the law.

Kitiyo says the government has installed strategic roadblocks in all the entry points to ensure nobody comes into the county nor go out of the county in the next 21/days.

Saying that there is a raising tendency among Kenyans to use short cuts, the administrator revealed that the government has deployed enough security personnel to man the roadblocks.

Kitiyo said the roadblocks that have been strategically placed include; Ngombeni, Bonje, Shanzu and Mwakirunge to oversee all those coming into the county from neighbouring counties.

“Nyali and the Kenya Ferry roadblock will be used to control traffic in the county. Those who will be allowed to come into this county are those who require emergency services,” he noted.

According to the CC the roadblocks will be manned by an assistant county commissioner, Officer Commanding Police station, a health officer and a detective.

The Commissioner however indicated that only vehicles ferrying essential service staff, essential commodities and emergency services will only be allowed to pass through the roadblocks.

The directive comes barely two days after President Uhuru directed that people living in COVID-19 hit counties will not be allowed to cross over to other counties.

Counties where the cessation of movement was announced by the government include Mombasa, Kwale, Nairobi and Kilifi.

The directive is set to begin Wednesday 8 April as from 7 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may have missed